UK’s most prestigious Crime Novel writing award nominates 3 Sussex authors

The It Girl crime novel author Ruth Ware

Sussex authors nominated for prestigious crime novel award

The longlist for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2023 has been announced today by Harrogate International Festivals and the search for the best crime novel of the past year gets underway.

This year, three Sussex authors have been nominated, Ruth Ware, Elly Griffiths, and Lucy Foley.

Ruth Ware, No. 1 New York Times and Globe and Mail (Toronto) bestselling author of In a Dark, Dark Wood, The Woman in Cabin 10, The Lying Game, The Death of Mrs Westaway, The Turn of the Key, and One by One, has been nominated for her gripping new thriller, The It Girl (Simon & Schuster), full of creepy chills and unforeseen twists, as the case of a popular and charismatic woman’s murder is reopened.

Bestselling author of the Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries and the Brighton Mysteries, Elly Griffiths, has been nominated for the accolade for The Locked Room (Quercus), the penultimate mystery featuring Forensic archaeologist Dr Ruth. Set during COVID, The Locked Room sees Galloway on the trail of a mystery very close to home, when an enigmatic photograph sends her to her mother’s Norfolk cottage for a visit that is unexpectedly prolonged by a lockdown.

No.1 Sunday Times bestselling author Lucy Foley, whose contemporary murder mystery thrillers, The Hunting Party and The Guest List, have sold over a million copies worldwide, has also been nominated for her deeply unsettling, locked room mystery The Paris Apartment (HarperCollins; HarperFiction).

In a beautiful old apartment block, deep in the backstreets of Paris, secrets are stirring behind every resident’s door. The lonely wife. The party animal. The curtain-twitcher. The secret lover. The watchful caretaker. The unwanted guest. One resident is missing. Only the killer holds the key to the mystery.

Public invited to vote for shortlist of crime novels

The public are now invited to vote to create a shortlist of six titles from 10am on Thursday 27th April at

The winner of the prestigious Award will be announced at the opening night of the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival (20th July), which this year celebrates its 20th anniversary. To mark the momentous occasion, for the first time the longlist includes twenty outstanding authors, rather than the traditional eighteen, competing for the UK and Ireland’s most coveted crime fiction writing Award.


Contact your MP or Councillor

Read Sussex Local Online

Our Podcasts

West Sussex


East Sussex