By-election results for Southwater North & Henfield

At the Horsham District Council by-elections held on Thursday 29 February 2024, the Conservative Party and the Green Party have won seats in the Southwater North and Henfield wards.

The results were as follows:

Southwater North Ward

Minty Barlow (Labour) – 92
Gary Brian Hayes (Liberal Democrats) – 388
Jennifer Helen Nuin Smith (Green) – 162
Claire Vickers (Conservative) – 618

Cllr Claire Vickers Southwater North
Cllr Claire Vickers Southwater North

Henfield Ward

Fiona Georgina May Ayres (Labour) – 215
Nico Alexander Kearns (Liberal Democrats) – 59
Tim Lloyd (Conservative) – 569
Gill Perry (Green) – 668

Cllr Gill Perry Henfield
Cllr Gill Perry Henfield

Claire Vickers and Gill Perry were duly elected as District Councillors for Southwater North Ward and Henfield Ward respectively.

Total verified votes were 1,267 out of an electorate of 4,397 for Southwater North and 1,514 out of an electorate of 4,544 for Henfield.

The overall turnout was 28.82% for Southwater North and 33.32% for Henfield.

The vacancies were a result of the standing down of Cllr Mike Wood in the Southwater North Ward and the sad passing of Cllr Malcolm Eastwood in the Henfield Ward.

For more information on the by-elections, please contact the Elections team at Horsham District Council on 01403 215126 or email


Contact your MP or Councillor

Read Sussex Local Online

Our Podcasts

West Sussex


East Sussex